Teach Me How To Say Goodbye

Five of my favorite people in the world descended on Colorado this past weekend.  It was an emotional weekend of laughter, adventure, and farewells.  But all I can think now is: how do you truly say goodbye to people who have been your whole world for nearly as long as you can remember?

Saying goodbye terrifies me – especially now.  It signifies a definite end in a way that even high school and college graduation didn’t seem to.  With every farewell, I am left wondering whether each person will still be a figure in my life in two years’ time (or, with some, whether I’ll even see them again).  I don’t think we’re going to willingly walk out of each other’s lives – but I worry I won’t be able to pick up the pieces of the relationships I leave behind and somehow find some semblance of my old life.

There is so much to say to all these people.  I want to tell them how much they have meant to me in the last half decade and how they have become my family.  I want to remind them that even though I won’t be there in person, I still really want to hear about everything going on in their lives.  I want to beg them not to forget me, because I certainly won’t forget them.

More than any of this, I need to say thank you.  I need to thank them for encouraging and inspiring me, because there is no way I would have made it here without them.  I need to thank them for being the support that held me up every time I fell, that made me laugh at more moments than I can count, and that were always willing to listen to me.

Processed with Snapseed.
How lucky am I to have these people in my life?

I may not see them for two years, but they will be with me every step of the way on this journey.  I will have pictures and stories to share, and every new friend I make there will certainly hear at least one anecdote of some of the amazing people I left back home.  I will love them and miss them constantly, and they will always be on my mind.  I could go on and on forever, but for now I’ll just leave everyone with one final line: I’ll see you again soon.

Leave a Reply

